Grand Master Slump

The last few days have been a bit quiet running wise, in the sense of actually putting my trainers on and running. I managed two very slow 5ks in the days following the marathon, and a slightly quicker four and half miles last night as my body slowly gets back to normal. I think I’ve gotten away quiet lightly, considering how painful the last few miles of the race were.

The first few days after I was pretty stiff, and the aches and pains caused some odd walking styles and light groaning, but there was nothing too horrific. I was hot all the time, and that meant I didn’t sleep too well. Oh and I had a weird taste in my mouth for two days. And I don’t remember much of Friday night as I had one beer and was completely bombed out of my mind and kept giggling inexplicably (apparently – I have no proof). But apart from that and with the judicial application of cold showers and compression socks I have made it to the other side, nearly. Although I’m still a bit knackered in general, so will and try take it easy the next few weeks (Ha, let’s see how long that last shall we?).

In terms of run planning however I have immediately fallen off the wagon and booked in another (potential) marathon. I blame Claire. All I did was mention that the Saxon, Norman and Viking marathon people (who put on the Battle of Britain Challenge) had announced a local race was 75% full, and all of a sudden we were both booked in! So we are doing the Jeskyns Challenge in the mid-January next year.

It’s similar to the last race in that is a 6 hour challenge, where you try and complete as many laps as possible. This time the laps are 4.41 miles long and the course is a bit hillier, but hopefully without as much wind! Having said that it’s in mid-January, so we may need snow shoes to get through the possible snow storms… It’s far enough away that we don’t need to worry about it just yet, but hopefully gives us both time to get some good training in. Maybe I should do some more hills this time. Or run in a wind tunnel. I’ll be going for 6 laps and the marathon distance again, but it would be good to get to 7 laps and 30 miles. Sounds familiar…

The fact I missed out on a sub-four hour marathon by 2 minutes (ok, 2 and half minutes – thanks for pointing that out negative brain) may have been a good thing I’ve decided. Short term it did make me want to jump in the sea, but long term I think it will serve as really good motivation to keep me training and get under four hours. The fact I signed up again for punishment, within two days of grinding to an embarrassing, cramped halt on a windy Wednesday in Folkestone, proves I’m still motivated (or unhinged). It’s good to have a goal, and nothing seems to motivate me to train as much as a race.

In other race news, me and Claire are going to run the Shoreham Woods 10k on the 5th September. Which is just 17 days away and my legs are still wooden enough to make Vinnie Jones’ acting coach grimace. Oh, and its supposed to be properly hilly… Should be fun! It will be Claire’s longest race, a good but manageable step up from her 5 miler at the Harvel 5 in June. She will smash it no doubt. I’ll settle for ‘competitive’, which translates for me as a brisk pace, without any falling over or dying on my arse. Will shall see. It may been an optimistic race booking.

Touch wood then, the post-marathon slump hasn’t struck (yet). My first run the day after was a bit hellish, as it poured it down about 2 minutes after I left the house and I was soaked through almost immediately. I was seriously tempted to stop and wander back home, but I forced myself round (slowly and gingerly) as even a jog seems to make my legs feel better post-race. And the rain hid my tears. Hopefully my body will be back to normal soon and will join my still enthusiastic mind.

I’m already thinking about what sessions I should do to prepare for the 10k, and what intervals and random longer runs I can do now I’m not following my marathon plan. (I like the idea of getting the train along to somewhere on the Kent coast and then running back, following the awesome Saxon Shore Way… Plans are at an early stage.) That seems to have shifted my focus on and hopefully will keep me motivated.

Off now for a cup of tea and some light stretching. Cheers for reading 🙂

PS. For fans of such things please meet Django, who Claire’s Dad Tony was dog-sitting recently. He is something like 50% Newfoundland, 25% St Bernard, 25% Rottweiler. But 100% awesome. Just don’t try and take his stick.

11834876_10155895963310696_3513511934710326855_o

4 thoughts on “Grand Master Slump

    • Cheers Pippa, I managing it so far – think starting the blog has helped. And seeing Django – he is lovely but daft. He has two special talents; walking into things and drooling…

      Sorry to hear about your plantar fasciitis – but well done on admitting your problem! Best to rest and get it sorted, or it can linger for months. Hope it clears up soon 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  1. Yeah, you feel like you should be doing something to make things better – but the not doing anything and resting is the thing that will fix it – confusing! I’m sure the new dog will do the trick in distracting you 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

